Indiana Legislative Youth Advisory Council

About the Council

Per authorizing statute IC 2-5-29, the Indiana Legislative Youth Advisory Council (ILYAC) advises the General Assembly on topics related to Indiana youth through the suggestion, endorsement, and advocacy of relevant legislation and policy. The Council is included in the budget of the Indiana Department of Education, supported by grants and donors, and overseen by the Indiana Bar Foundation.

The Appointment Process

Council members are appointed by a high-ranking member of state government leadership, and serve two-year terms. Five appointing bodies can each appoint between two to five Council members, as follows:

  • Governor of Indiana (2)
  • President Pro Tempore of the Indiana Senate (5)
  • Speaker of the Indiana House (5)
  • Minority Leader of the Indiana Senate (5)
  • Minority Leader of the Indiana House (5)

State government leaders appoint members to the Council through a rolling appointment process that typically includes recommendations from the community, the submission of a resume, and/or a formal interview. Appointments depend on seat availability and are very limited. To seek an appointment, you may contact an appointing body and request information on council seat availability.

Council Sessions Through the Years

2012-13 members on the House floors during Legislative Session.
2017-18 members during a meeting at the Indiana Bar Foundation offices.

The 2019-20 Council Session

The 2019 Annual Report was published on November 30, 2019 and includes policy recommendations for the 2020 Legislative Session. It has been submitted to the Indiana General Assembly as required by the Authorizing Statute. The 2020 Bill Endorsements was published on January 31, 2020. The report includes eleven (11) House and Senate Bills for suggested enactment during the 2020 Legislative Session.

Link to Reports:

Elected Council Leadership

Kelby Stallings, Council Co-Chair (Fall)
Aldo Medina, Council Co-Chair (Spring)
Megan Stoner , Legislative Liaison
Kyle Feldkamp, Secretary
Ranvir Sandhu, Secretary

General Council Membership

Nathaniel Alexander, Reitz Memorial High School
Tanner Bowman, Brown County High School
Chris Elmore, Carmel High School
Madeline Erdell, Signature School
Colton Ferguson, Indiana University – Bloomington
Wyatt Harvey, Monrovia High School
Eilidh MacLeod, Signature School
Carter May, Bedford North Lawrence High School
Christian Means, Purdue University
Nathan Mertz, Indiana University – Bloomington
Matthew Quintos, Homestead High School
Hayden Redelman, Bishop Chatard High School
Elijah Roberson, Martinsville High School
Matthew Stachler, Snider High School
Syndey Strecker, Heritage Christian School
Abby Thomas, Indiana University – Bloomington